The Honorees

At a Glance

Evelyn Cacha

  • anti-mining activist
  • c0-founder of Alyansa Laban sa Mina (ALAMIN) in Mindoro
  • an enabler, who enables “other worthy young people to do the work of reaching to the masses at the grassroots and lobbying  local officials so they do not allow more transgressions on Inang Kalikasan”
  • Related Links:




    Alamin position:

    Dean Margarita dela Cruz

    • Dean of the UP College Tacloban,
    • founder of the Guian Development Foundation Inc. (GDFI),
    • 2008 Gawad Bayani ng Kalikasan Awardee.
    • Through GDFI, Prof. de la Cruz helped establish about 20 marine sanctuaries in seven municipalities: Guian, Balangiga, Giporlos, Quinapundan, Salcedo, Mercedes and Lawaan in Eastern Samar.

    Sr. Luz Emmanuel Soriano, RA

    • Sr. Luz, president of Assumption College
      Sister Luz f rom 1980 to 1991, is presently the Treasurer of Assumption Antipolo. She is also the President of the Philippine Council for Peace and Global Education (PCPGE). It was under her leadership that PCPGE adopted an encironmental thrust in response to the critical situation of the environment and in recognition of the crucial role education plays in effecting change. For its efforts, PCPGE received the Likas Yaman Award from the Philippine Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) on June 27, 1991.
    • Sr. Luz also spearheaded the “greening” of Assumption schools, particularly Assumption Antipolo. She was primarily responsible for establishing the Center for Peace and Ecology PACEM which maintains an ecology center, a mini-forest, a resouce center, agreen house, a herbal garden, an organic farm and a recycling center. She has conducted seminars, workshops and conferences for students, teachers, administrators, parents, non-governmental organizations and religious groups.

    Ipat Luna

    • former president, Tanggol Kalikasan
    • environment consultant, Lipa City
    • breastfeeding, tobacco control and healthy food and lifestyle advocate

    Judea Millora

    • Dr. Dea, as people call her, is a practicing medical doctor involved in natural medicine and also a full time environmentalist.
    • earned the B.S. Biology in the University of the Philippines in 1975 and continued her studies in Lyceum Northwestern-FQDMF College of Medicine (1979-1983) taking up the course Doctor of Medicine.
    • Presently, she is a technicalconsultant in Ecological Solid Waste Management and the founder and President of Zero Kalat para sa Kaunlaran Foundation, Inc. (ZKKFI).

    Jurgenne Primavera

    • Named one of the Heroes of the Environment by TIME Magazine, 2008
    • joined Southeast Asian Fisheries and Development Center (SEAFDEC) in Iloilo in 1975 and subsequently became its first senior scientist
    • awarded an honorary doctorate, Stockholm University, 2004

    Lydia Robledo

    • founder of Philippine Butterfly Habitat Conservation Society and Butterfly Gardening Club
    • member, Philippine Bird Watching Club
    • ardent butterfly conservationist

    Luz Sabas

    • Pioneer, Zero Waste Management Movement in the Philippines
    • a nurse by training


    One Response to The Honorees

    1. Pingback: Walong Filipina 2010 at CCP October 14 – November 28, 2010 | WalongFilipina's Blog

    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

    Connecting to %s