Walong Filipina 2010+2011 at Sining Kamalig, September 29 to October 29

Walong Filipina Sa Ngalan ng Kalikasan: Parangal sa mga Alagad ng
2010-2011 will reunite once again
at Sining Kamalig, Gateway Mall, Cubao, Quezon City, September 29 to October 29.

A tribute to Rizal and Leonard Co, the botanist who was slain
while in the field, allegedly because he was caught in the crossfire, the 2011 edition was launched  last March at Liongoren Gallery, New York, Cubao. The honorees are: Mr. Gonzalo Catan, inventor and advocate of organic products; Dr. Metodio Palaypay, zero waste
management worker; Fr. Alfredo Albor, forest conservationist; Lutgardo Labad, cultural worker; Col. Romeo Magsalos, former Marikina Chief of Police “No to Plastic” campaigner; Andy Orencio, artist and gardener; Dr. Warlito Laquihon, sloping land technologist; and Dr. Jaime Galvez Tan, former secretary of Health, herbalist and traditional medicine practitioner.

The eight women artists who pay tribute to these exemplary men
are: Lena Cobangbang, Marika Constantino, Marina Cruz, Hermogena Borja “Nene” Lungay, Goldie Poblador, Jeannie Tan, Josie Tionko and Pam Yan-Santos.

These pairs will be joined by the 2010 Filipina environmentalist-honorees: Evelyn Cacha, co-founder of Alyansa Laban sa Mina (ALAMIN) in Mindoro; UP Tacloban Dean Margarita dela
Cruz; Sis. Luz Emmanuel of Assumption Antipolo; environmental lawyer Ipat Luna; Judea Millora, a waste management expert; Jurgenne Primavera, renowned advocate of sustainable fish farming and a mangrove conservationist; Lydia Robledo, butterfly habitat conservation advocate, and Luz Sabas, 80 years old, who
together with her late husband pioneered waste management in the Philippines.

The advocacies of these eight women were portrayed by eight male
artists: Egai Talusan Fernandez, Efren Garcellano, Renato Habulan, Rico Palacio, Mario de Rivera, Mark Salvatus, Jojit Solano and PG Zoluaga

The artists worked on their subjects based on research supplied by student and guest writers supervised by Walong Filipina co-curator and University of the Philippines art studies Prof. Flaudette May Datuin. The student researchers for 2011 are: Hemerson Dimacale, who was also part of the 2010 team; Christina Pangan and Loreli Pama, winners of the 2010 essay writing contest; UP art studies majors Jacqueline Ali, Aliana Gimena and Meg Fontanilla. They were joined by guest writer Malen Dulay. The student
researchers in 2010 were: Ceres Canilao, Hemerson Dimacale, Aleth Gayosa, Romena Luciano, Virna Odiver Mai Saporsantos, Debbie Virata.

There will also be an essay writing contest https://walongfilipina.wordpress.com/essay-writing-contest-2010/,
and a forum-workshop featuring waste management advocate Dr. Metodio Palaypay, October 15, 2011.

For updates and more details, log on to: https://walongfilipina.wordpress.com/
or call Liongoren Gallery 9124319.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s