In Memory of Jose Rizal and Leonard Co: 8 Filipina honors 8 Filipino Environmentalists

A chief of police, a cultural worker, an agriculturist, a gardener-artist, a priest, medical doctors, an inventor: each doing their work for the environment. They will be honored by eight women artists in the exhibit entitled “2011 Walong Filipina Sa Ngalan ng Kalikasan: Parangal sa mga Alagad ng Kalikasan.” This edition also commemorates the life and works of two stellar historical figures: Jose Rizal, the unheralded environmentalist, whose 150th year of birth we are celebrating this year, and Leonard Co, the botanist who was slain while in the field, allegedly because he was caught in the crossfire.

Norma Liongoren

Walong Filipina (Eight Filipinas) is an annual project by Liongoren Gallery, and has shown the works of close to a hundred women artists and other notable women from various disciplines from the time it was first held in March 1990. In 2010, the project honored the contributions of eight Filipina environmentalists, whose life and works were portrayed by eight male artists. This time, it is the other way around: eight female artists honoring eight male environmentalists.

Opening on March 25, at Liongoren Gallery, New York, Cubao, Quezon City, Walong Filipina 2010 honors the works of: Mr. Gonzalo Catan, inventor and advocate of organic products; Dr. Metodio Palaypay, zero waste management worker; Fr. Alfredo Albor, forest conservationist; Lutgardo Labad, cultural worker; Col. Romeo Magsalos, Marikina Chief of Police “No to Plastic” campaigner; Andy Orencio, artist and gardener; Dr. Warlito Laquihon, sloping land technologist; and Dr. Jaime Galvez Tan, former secretary of Health, herbalist and traditional medicine practitioner.

Goldie Poblador on Marikina Police Chief Magsalos

Jeannie Tan on Andy Orencio

Lena Cobanbang on Dr. Gonzalo Catan

Pam Yan-Santos on Dr. Jaime Galvez Tan

Marina Cruz on Fr. Alfredo Albor

Marika Constantino on Dr. Metodio Palaypay

Nene Lungay on Lutgardo Labad

Josie Tionko on Dr. Warlito Laquihon

The eight women artists who will pay tribute to these exemplary men are: Lena Cobangbang, Marika Constantino, Marina Cruz, Hermogena Borja “Nene” Lungay, Goldie Poblador, Jeannie Tan, Josie Tionko and Pam Yan-Santos.

Continuing the practice started in 2010, eight researcher-writers composed of University of the Philippines art studies students, their professor and Walong Filipina co-curator Flaudette May Datuin and guest writer Malen Dulay team up with each pair. The students are: Hemerson Dimacale, who was part of the2010 team; Christina Pangan and Loreli Pama, winners of the 2010 essay writing contest; Jacqueline Ali, Aliana Gimena and Meg Fontanilla.

There will also be an essay writing contest, details of which are to be announced later.

For updates and more details, log on to: or call Liongoren Gallery 9124319.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s